Diamond Princess

44 Passengers have reviewed this ship

  • Excellent

    25
  • Very good

    9
  • Average

    6
  • Poor

    3
  • Terrible

    1

Rating summary

  • Food

    4
  • Entertainment

    4
  • Cabin

    4
  • Crew

    4
  • Price

    4
  • Value

    4

44 reviews sorted by:

Contributor image placeholder

Al R

Contributor

  • 47 Helpful votes
  • 1 Cruise review
  • 0 Cruises

Diamond Princess

View deals
  • Overall

    5
  • Food

    4
  • Entertainment

    5
  • Cabin

    4
  • Crew

    4
  • Price

    4
  • Value

    4
Jun 2015

"What an amazing cruise"

Well, this was our first excursion from anywhere apart from Auckland. We had both been on board a Princess Vessel previously (Sun Princess), but this was the first Cruise on the Diamond. We had a terrific flight over to Oz with Air NZ, then an informative afternoon in Sydney, and best of all, it this was a free one! Next morning, we trundled down the street with our luggage, and found the vessel. It was a much larger one in comparison to others we had been on. No sooner had we got to the port, we said goodbye to our luggage (No, they weren't stolen!) and casually boarded the ship. As it was around noon, decided to test out the on board restaurant. As usual, the meal was outstanding. But more about that later. After the on board emergency test, we casually tasted our first drink and waved goodbye to the land as we departed. Unlike our last cruise we didn't go under the Harbour Bridge, as the Diamond Princess is too tall to do that! Well, the next twelve days simply flew by. We were extremely well fed, and there was always a tea/coffee machine available! The first sight of land was when we ventured through the fiords. Despite the poor weather, the picturesque views were ultra fantastic. During the night, we went through Fouveaux straight and spotted the lighthouse on Stewart Island. Next day, we were in Dunedin. The entire trip for me was very good. Nothing seemed to be a problem for our Cabin Steward. To be honest, I rarely got time to sit down and relax. There were so many options to try. I even partook a few amazing afternoon teas where it was like a 5 star Hotel! The evening meals were all outstanding. For example a Duck Terrine, Apricot Preserve, Ossobuco Agnolotti (a crisp sage with veal) Blueberry Mojita Sorbet, and the final treat that night was the Chocolate extravaganza. That was a Chocolate Raspberry Mousse with Vanilla Creme Brulee and crunchy Shortbread! My mouth is watering as I recall this. But wait, one could order what ever they wanted from the menu! There were many options. I was in wonderland! All in all, I thought the trip was excellent. I was never bored, there were so many things to do. We even missed out on a couple of events due to attending other ones! Still, that gives us the desire to undertake another cruise soon. This was our sixth cruise, and even as I recount it, my desire to get out on the open sea again is astounding. I watch out my window here in Auckland and whenever I see a passenger liner going in or out, recall my previous cruises, and I think recall the fantastic times I had on board various ships, and of course, cant wait for my next cruise!

Read more
  • Cruise Name: Diamond Princess
  • Destination: New Zealand
  • Sailed: January 2015
Cynthia H

Cynthia H

Contributor

  • 38 Helpful votes
  • 1 Cruise review
  • 3 Cruises

Diamond Princess

View deals
  • Overall

    4
  • Food

    4
  • Entertainment

    3
  • Cabin

    4
  • Crew

    4
  • Price

    4
  • Value

    4
Jul 2016

"Revamped Diamond Princess"

I have just received Captain's Circle elite status, so have cruised with Princess many times. Diamond Princess used to be my very favourite cruise ship. After the last cruise, I probably wouldn't travel on it again. It is very focused on giving the Japanese a great experience and doesn't really cater as well for other nationalities any more. The ship was about 80% Japanese people and 20% other nationalities. Activities are geared towards Japanese people and every activity or game or anything, there are hundreds there to participate. Food also is Japanese style which is nice to try on occasions. The cabins are roomy and the staff excellent in their service areas. Buffet service was slow in the evenings. Unfortunately any time dining is not available on this ship which is a great shame. The dining staff were very helpful and looked after our needs well. We found that the Japanese mostly use the Oasis (pay for) area, so the spas and outdoor pool area was mainly uncrowded. We didn't visit the Izumi Japanese bath as we thought it too expensive to try. The ports we visited on this cruise were amazing, especially the South Taiwan ports. I would highly recommend cruising with Princess, but not the Diamond Princess.

Read more
  • Cruise Name: Diamond Princess
  • Destination: Asia
  • Sailed: June 2016
Contributor image placeholder

Gabriele T

Contributor

  • 32 Helpful votes
  • 1 Cruise review
  • 2 Cruises

Diamond Princess

View deals
  • Overall

    4
  • Food

    4
  • Entertainment

    3
  • Cabin

    5
  • Crew

    5
  • Price

    5
  • Value

    5
Apr 2015

"Beautiful ship, top service."

Went to Singapore in March/April 2015 on the Diamond Princess. Beautiful ship all pretty new. Cabins are quite roomy. We had an inside cabin and much bigger than the Sun and Sea Princess. But it is a larger ship. Good amount of closet an hanging space as well as shelves. In room entertainment eg TV great choice of movies many channels. Your cruising information at all times on TV. The food was restaurant class but would have liked more vegetables to come with meals but you could ask for extra and it was no problem. The Japanese Baths was amazing and relaxing only the price of a cocktail for 2 hours. The entertainment could do with improvement. There wasn't very much through the day just Basics. The shows were 3 stars. More on deck entertainment would be good not just 1 or 2 times in a 20 night cruise. Captains parties was a joke no one saw the Captain or his crew the whole cruise walking around or otherwise. Other ships always interacted.

Read more
  • Cruise Name: Diamond Princess
  • Destination: Asia
  • Sailed: March 2015
Contributor image placeholder

Katelyn

Contributor

  • 27 Helpful votes
  • 1 Cruise review
  • 3 Cruises

Diamond Princess

View deals
  • Overall

    5
  • Food

    4
  • Entertainment

    4
  • Cabin

    5
  • Crew

    5
  • Price

    5
  • Value

    5
Nov 2016

"Grand Asia - Very Relaxing "

While this wasn't my first cruise it was my partners first and he had a ball. The ports were amazing (although we always wish we could stay longer at each place, but that's cruising for you) the crew were so accommodating and friendly, the cabin was more than I could have asked for, it was beautiful and very spacious with a gorgeous balcony. The food was delicious and there was so much choice on offer. The ship it's self was amazing, the Diamond Princess is huge with lots on offer. I did enjoy the shopping on board however I do wish there was a bit more of a mix instead of just the upper market stores just to keep it varied. The entertainment was great although again I wish there was a little more choice during the day, for events that may suit the younger couples. But overall this was a very rewarding trip, we had the most beautiful and relaxing days with gorgeous weather, food and not to forget the people we shared it all with. I was very impressed with Princess Cruises as well as Cruise Sale Finder for setting it all up for us. It was a magical trip overall and I would 100% recommend to anyone.

Read more
  • Cruise Name: Diamond Princess
  • Destination: Asia
  • Sailed: October 2016
Contributor image placeholder

Maureen B

Contributor

  • 27 Helpful votes
  • 1 Cruise review
  • 0 Cruises

Diamond Princess

View deals
  • Overall

    4
  • Food

    5
  • Entertainment

    4
  • Cabin

    4
  • Crew

    5
  • Price

    4
  • Value

    4
Feb 2016

"Dancing on the Diamond"

My husband and I cruised on the Diamond hoping we would be able to dance every night. And we did!! It was fantastic fun dancing to the great music of Evolution and the Crimson Duo. They were terrific to dance to playing anything we asked and were so friendly by the end of the cruise we could count them as friends and hope we are lucky enough to catch up with them on another cruise. The bar staff, particularly in the Wheelhouse Bar were so friendly, greeting us every night by name and remembering our order. We loved the anytime dining option, eating in the restaurant where we were served delicious food. It was always served quickly and again the staff are unbelievably friendly and efficient. Everything works like clockwork. We had a balcony cabin and enjoyed having breakfast on our balcony every morning. We did not do any of the tours offered on the ship because we had toured New Zealand by land previously but we enjoyed the port lectures which gave us options of self guided things to do. The presenter had quite a sense of humour which made the presentation quite amusing as well as informative. I think the one big impression of our cruise with princess was that it was a happy ship.

Read more
  • Cruise Name: Diamond Princess
  • Destination: New Zealand
  • Sailed: January 2016
Facebook Twitter Youtube
{"E_COMMERCE":[],"PROMO":[],"IS_TEST_ENV":false,"PAGE_READY":{"hitNationality":"us","siteCurrency":"AUD","siteEnv":"Production","siteLang":"en","sitePageType":"princess\/diamond-princess\/reviews","siteProduct":"cruise","siteReferrer":"http:\/\/www.cruisediscounters.com.au","siteRelease":"NS","siteType":"responsive","userLoggedIn":0}}